Nature in the City

By Debbie S.

May 12, 2008

Tags: , , , ,

Category: City

3 Comments »

Today’s Shutter Sisters post is on seeking mother nature with the lens. Like Stephanie, I find nature to be an inspiration for my photography. I even have a whole sort box called “Nature” in my Memory Manager program with folders for sky, water, trees, grass, flowers, animals, leaves, snow, moon, and mountains so I can easily keep track of my nature shots.

Previous posts on this blog have shown off the ability of the macro feature on my camera to capture up-close flower details and the zoom feature to get safely close to a newly-hatched bird. But nature can be found in unexpected places, too. When we visit my sister in Boston, we’re usually ready to leave our suburban nature behind for the big city. But even the big city is touched by Mother Nature’s hands.

This was a shot taken at sunrise from the Charles River Esplanade in Boston on July 4th, 2005. July 4th is about the only day of the year I’m up at dawn, arriving quite early at the Esplanade to get a television-worthy seat for the annual Boston Pops concert! I loved the color of the sky, the far-off buildings reflected in the Charles River, and the lone duck floating peacefully in the foreground. It was a peaceful as it looks.

3 Responses to “Nature in the City”

  1. […] during that time of day – morning or evening – when the light is perfect.  I was going to use this picture, but I looked at my blog archive and realized that I’d already used it in a blog post.  […]

  2. […] during that time of day – morning or evening – when the light is perfect.  I was going to use this picture, but I looked at my blog archive and realized that I’d already used it in a blog post.  […]

  3. […] during that time of day – morning or evening – when the light is perfect.  I was going to use this picture, but I looked at my blog archive and realized that I’d already used it in a blog post.  […]

Leave a Reply

